Skip to Main Content
Organization Title

Governing Board Members

Palm Canyon Photo by Pam Lennon

The Coachella Valley Mountains Conservancy is currently governed by a board of twenty members. The board members represent local jurisdictions, the public at large, several state agencies, and the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians. The board meets on a bi-monthly basis at regularly scheduled public meetings.

Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians
Larry Olinger, Vice Chairman – Tribal Council (Designee)
Tom Davis, Chief of Planning/Development (Alternate Designee)

CA State Assembly Appointee
Buford Crites, Private Citizen (Appointee)

CA Governor’s Appointee
Joan Taylor, Private Citizen (Appointee)

CA Senate Appointee
Ellen Lloyd Trover, Private Citizen (Appointee) (Chairwoman)

CA Department of Fish & Wildlife
Richard Kim, Environmental Scientist  (Designee)
Chris Hayes, Deputy Regional Manager (Alternate Designee)

CA State Parks
Ray Lennox, Acting Superintendent, Salton Sea Sector (Designee)

CA Department of Finance
Michael Cohen, Director (Designee)
Karen Finn, Program Budget Manager (Alternate Designee)
Jacqueline Wong-Hernandez, Chief Deputy Director, Policy (Alternate Designee)

CA Natural Resources Agency
Julie Alvis, Deputy Assistant Secretary (Designee)

City of Cathedral City
John Aguilar, Council Member (Designee)
Raymond Gregory, Council Member (Alternate Designee)

City of Coachella
Megan Jacinto, Council Member (Designee)
Emmanuel Martinez, Council Member (Alternate Designee)

City of Desert Hot Springs
Anayeli Zavala, Council Member (Designee)
Vacant (Alternate Designee)

City of Indian Wells
Richard Balocco, Mayor (Designee)
Ted Mertens, Council Member (Alternate Designee)

City of Indio
Elaine Holmes, Council Member (Designee)
Oscar Ortiz, Council Member (Alternate Designee)

City of La Quinta
Kathleen Fitzpatrick, Council Member (Designee) (Vice Chairwoman)
John Peña, Council Member (Alternate Designee)

City of Palm Desert
Susan Marie Weber, Council Member (Designee)
Sabby Jonathon, Mayor Pro-Tem (Alternate Designee)

City of Palm Springs
Lisa Middleton, Council Member (Designee)
J.R. Roberts, Council Member (Alternate Designee)

City of Rancho Mirage
Ted Weill, Council Member (Designee)
Iris Smotrich, Council Member (Alternate Designee)

County of Riverside, District 4
V. Manuel Perez, Riverside County Supervisor (Designee)

University of California
Christopher Tracy, Director, Deep Canyon Desert Research Center (Designee)

Wildlife Conservation Board
John Donnelly, Executive Director (Designee)